Skip to content

Media & News

Media Release - 20 September 2004

SANParks announces new Acting Board Chairperson

South African National Parks (SANParks) announced the stepping down of Murphy Morobe as the Chairperson of the Board.

Morobe's resignation arises as a result of his recent appointment as DDG: Communications in the Presidency, thus becoming a public servant. In terms of the SA National Parks Act public servants are prohibited from serving as members of the SANParks Board.

"It is unfortunate that the current Act places such a constraint on members of the public service participating in this capacity as I will solely miss my involvement with SANParks, a cause for which I feel very deeply," said Morobe. Morobe was serving his second term as the chairperson of the Board, having been with the Board for five years to date.

As a consequence, on the 09 September 2004 the Minister of Environmental Affairs and Tourism, Marthinus van Schalkwyk, appointed Zakhele Sithole as the Acting Chairperson of the Board.

"We are quite grateful to Mr Morobe for his leadership and a kind offer to continue rendering his support as the successes of many companies and organisations owe this, to some extent, to the continuity in the leadership," said the Chief Executive of SANParks, David Mabunda.

... Ends

Issued: by South African National Parks Communications
Wanda Mkutshulwa
Head: Communications
Tel: 012 426 5201 / 082 908 2692
Fax: 012 343 0153