Skip to content

Conservation Services

Cape Research Centre

The Cape Research Centre, home of the Cape Node, is situated in the Tokai section of Table Mountain National Park. The Cape Node, a research wing of SANParks’ Conservation Services Division, was established in 2008.

The Cape Node was established to develop internal scientific capacity, mainly in the form of science programme managers and applied conservation ecologists, to serve the parks of the Cape Floral Kingdom and adjacent Succulent Karoo, the unique position of the Western Cape with regard to marine/coastal biodiversity, and the socio-economic pressures in the urban-park interface around Cape Town.

The primary objective of the Cape Node is to establish SANParks, through a collaborative approach, as a significant facilitator of Fynbos, Succulent Karoo, and marine/coastal research, and as leader in soliciting and applying the full range of socio-ecological research outcomes to protected areas in the region.

Vision

Advancing the state of protected area knowledge.

Mission Statement

  • Conduct, facilitate, and influence research and monitoring to improve the performance and sustainability of parks.
  • Synthesize and translate relevant ecological knowledge to enable effective park management and to raise the profile of parks.
  • Evaluate and monitor the performance and sustainability of parks in achieving their biodiversity, cultural-heritage and socio-economic mandates.

Cape Research Centre Staff

Name

Position

E-mail

Ruth-Mary Fisher

Scientist/ Science Liaison

Ruth-Mary.Fisher@sanparks.org

Wendy Jill Annecke General Manager: Cape Research Centre Wendy.Annecke@sanparks.org
Mbulelo Dopolo

Scientist: Marine Biology

Mbulelo.Dopolo@sanparks.org

Nicola van Wilgen

Global Change Scientist

Nicola.VanWilgen@sanparks.org

Carly Cowell Regional Ecologist Carly.Cowell@sanparks.org

Zishan Ebrahim

Scientist: Biodiversity Data

Zishan.Ebrahim@sanparks.org

Mmoto Masubelele

Scientist: Landscape Ecology

Mmoto.Masubelele@sanparks.org

Trevor Adams Biotechnician Trevor.Adams@sanparks.org

Nashreen Williams

Junior Scientist: Plant Ecology

Nashreen.Williams@sanparks.org

Nosipho Tyagana Junior Scientist: Restoration Ecology Nosipho.Tyagana@sanparks.org
Nonhlanhla Precotia Nyalungu Junior Marine Scientist Nonhlanhla.Nyalungu@sanparks.org
Nomfundo Nkabi Intern: Groen Sebenza Nomfundo.Nkabi@sanparks.org
Vuyelwa Olayi Intern: Groen Sebenza Vuyelwa.Olayi@sanparks.org
Lauren Abrahams Intern: Groen Sebenza Lauren.Abrahams@sanparks.org

Farhaana Damon

Administrative Assistant

Farhaana.Damon@sanparks.org

Ndiviwe Baliwe Marine Bio-technician ndiviwe.baliwe@sanparks.org

Address & contact details

Tel: +27 (0) 21 713 7500
Fax: +27 (0) 21 712 0131

Postal address:
Cape Research Centre
Scientific Services
South African National Parks
P.O. Box 216
Steenberg
7947
South Africa

Physical Address:
Cape Research Centre
Scientific Services
South African National Parks
End of Tokai Road (West)
Tokai
7945
South Africa

Map directions

CRC map