Skip to content

Conservation Services


Garden Route Research Centre

Names Positions Area Tel Numbers E-mail
Dr Rod Randall General Manager: Garden Route Scientific Services Rondevlei 044 343 1302
Dr Wessel Vermeulen Science Operations Manager Knysna 044 302 5614
Ms Tania van Tonder Senior Admin Clerk
044 343 1302
Ms Martina Blouw Receptionist / Cleaner
044 343 1302 n/a
Dr Ian Russell Aquatic Ecologist: Estuaries Rondevlei 044 343 1302
Ms Lizette Moolman Vegetation Ecologist: Fynbos & Forest - Disturbance and Rehabilitation Knysna 044 302 5619
Dr Tineke Kraaij Vegetation Ecologist: Fynbos -Fire Ecology Rondevlei 044 343 1302
Mr Graham Durrheim Vegetation Ecologist: Resource use - Timber yield regulation Knysna 044 302 5615
Ms Ntombizodwa Ngubeni Vegetation Ecologist: Forest dynamics and Resource use Knysna 044 302 5616
Mr Kyle Smith Marine Ecologist: Resource use Rondevlei 044 343 1302
Dr Nick Hanekom Marine Ecologist: Rocky shores Rondevlei 044 343 1302
Ms Jessica Hayes Regional Ecologist: Garden Route Rondevlei 044 343 1302
Ms Nerina Kruger Geographical Information Systems Practitioner Rondevlei 044 343 1302
Mr Johan Baard Geographic Information Systems Practitioner & Species and Communities Knysna 044 302 5608
Mr Diba Rhikotso Biotechnician: Vegetation Ecology Knysna 044 302 5609
Mr George Sass Biotechnician: Forest Ecology Knysna 044 302 5631
Mr Daniel James Biotechnician: Forest Ecology Knysna 044 302 5617
Mr Bheki Maphanga Biotechnician Rondevlei 044 343 1302

Cape Research Centre

Melodie McGeoch

General Manager

Ruth-Mary Fisher

Scientist/ Science Liaison

Wendy Jill Annecke Social Scientist

Mbulelo Dopolo

Scientist: Marine Biology

Nicola van Wilgen

Global Change Scientist

Carly Cowell Regional Ecologist

Zishan Ebrahim

Scientist: Biodiversity Data

Glynn Alard

Science Support

Mmoto Masubelele

Junior Scientist: Landscape Ecology

Nashreen Williams

Junior Scientist: Plant Ecology

Jolene Waller

Administrative Assistant

Savanna & Arid Research Centre

Danie Pienaar Senior GM: Science & Research
Guin Zambatis Senior Biotechnician: collections
Adolf Managanyi Senior Biotechnician
Patricia Khoza Secretary: Middle Manager
Dudu Job Secretary: Middle Manager
Louise Swemmer Scientist: Social, Economic, Tourism
Andrew Deacon Scientist: Small vertebrates
Ernest Daemane Scientist: Restoration Ecology
Vacant Scientist: Plant dynamics & restoration  
Sam Ferreira Scientist: Large mammal ecology
Hendrik Sithole Scientist: Invertebrates
Llewellyn Foxcroft Scientist: Invasion ecology
Izak Smit Scientist: GIS, RS & ground water
Navashni Govender Scientist: Fire & biogeochemistry
Danny Govender Scientist: Disease ecology
Rina Grant Science Manager: Systems Ecology  
Hugo Bezuidenout Science Manager: Species & Communities
Judith Botha Science Manager: Knowledge Support
Vacant Science Liason Officer  
Vacant Science awareness & extension manager  
Marna Herbst Regional Ecologist: west
Cathy Greaver Regional Ecologist: north east
Angela Gaylard Regional Ecologist: frontier
Boitumelo Ntabe Projects Officer
Michele Hofmeyr Manager: indigenous nursery Skukuza
Sharon Thompson Logistics Coordinator
Purvance Shikwambana Laboratory Technician
Stefanie Freitag-Ronaldson GM: Savanna Research Unit
Sandra Mac Fadyen GIS/RS Analyst
Joel Tleane GIS technician
Jacques Venter Biotechnicians
Nokukhanyi Mpanza Biotechnician
Noel Nzima Biotechnician
Steven Khoza Biotechnician
Thando Mendela Biotechnician
Lufuno Munyai Biotechnician
Graeme Ellis Biotechnician